My Love

Standard

 

I saw us for the first time,

and it took my breath away.

I knew then that

you were my love.

I could not deny it,

neither did I want to.

I want the world to know

that it is you.

But, they can’t know.

Fear holds me back,

making me doubt.

Not you,

but them.

Those who will disown,

de-friend,

denounce.

Because you happen to be my love.

You care for me,

treat me well,

covet time with me,

speak beautiful words.

However, you are also a female.

And, somehow, that becomes

all that they see.

That you and I happen to be

of the same sex.

A love deemed a sin,

something to be ashamed of.

But, you are beautiful and kind,

and you are mine.

I want to show you to the world,

to tell them all what we have.

But, I cannot.

My heart aches because it is both

full of love and

full of fear.

Because you are my love.

My love.

My love.

One thought on “My Love

Leave a Reply

